Draw lot determines winner of last SB slot in Kibungan

>> Tuesday, May 31, 2016

By Susan C. Aro

KIBUNGAN, Benguet --  Call it luck for a   candidate who will seat as a councilor for the next three years in this municipality.
Onoda Aplat and Ben Palukpoc, garnered 1,921 votes each to tie for the eighth and last slot in the Sangguniang Bayan. But there is only one position to occupy.
Section 11, letter D-11 of the COMELEC Resolution 10083 or the General Instruction for the Board of Canvassers on the Consolidation/Canvass and transmission of votes stipulates drawing of lots to break the tie and determine the winner, according to Municipal Election Officer Ricardo Buenaventura.
Both contenders agreed to the scheme and vowed in the presence of members of the community through a gentleman’s agreement to accept whatever their fate would be such that the loser will concede if he loses. They also pledged not to file any motion for consideration before the Commission on Elections, he added.
The agreement was personally witnessed by incumbent and unopposed Vice Mayor Aureiana Sacpa, Buenaventura said.
In the ensuing draw, Aplat   was the lucky one   and   Palukpoc had to give way.
With the SB line up now complete, all the municipal level winners   were proclaimed May 10.

Proclaimed   winner for mayoralty post was Cesar Molitas, and  Sacpa as vice mayor.  The eight councilors including Aplat are LabioNabe, Laurence Toking, Susan Atayoc, Marcos Olayo, Philmore Dayao, SaturninoTayag, and Joseph Cayad-an. 


  © Blogger templates Palm by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP  

Web Statistics