Panagbenga judges hold impressive credentials

>> Saturday, March 12, 2016

Alfred P. Dizon 

(Julie G. Fianza of the Baguio City information office writes this week’s piece to answer queries  of residents and contestants on credentials of judges during the just concluded Panagbenga Festival)
Sixteen individuals; two groups of “credible and impressive” judges, were chosen to select the crème of the crop in the grand street and floral float parade on Feb. 27 and 28.
 The names of judges were announced during a press conference. All are recognized experts in their fields, from outside Baguio and without prior connections or affiliations with any of the performers.
 For the streetdancing parade, the judges were: Peter de Vera, Maria Persady, Rodel Mayor Fronda, Herminigildo Ranera, Carmencita Jasareno-Bernardo, Daniel Policarpio Bartolome, Osisa Barroso, Jr, Raymond Anselmo, Dr. Raul Sunico and Director Nestor Jardin. 
Director Nestor Jardin is a dance artist and a soloist of Ballet Philippines, served as a chairman of National Commission for the Culture and the Arts (NCCA), organized national and international dance festivals and programs. He is also a recipient of local and international awards for the arts and other achievements.
Dr. Raul Sunico has earned international recognition as a concert pianist, orchestral soloist and a composer-arranger of Philippine music.
He has also given solo recitals in the US, Canada, Mexico, India, Australia, Austria, Japan, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, France, Germany, Poland and Spain. A recipient for numerous awards in culture and the arts here and abroad, he has recorded and arranged numerous Compact Discs (CDs) and cassettes, and authored accredited textbooks in use today.
Dr. Sunico attended and earned his Master of Music at the prestigious Julliard School in New York, USA. He is now the president of the Cultural Center of the Philippines and Dean of Conservatory of Music, UST.
Raymond Anselmo is a full-time physical education professor at the University of Santo Tomas (UST), and a former member of the UST Salinggawi dance troupe. 
Osias Barroso Jr., is considered a “ballerina’s Prince” for exceptional skill in partnering, and as a solo artist. He is the Co-artistic Director of Ballet Manila. He has also performed in local and international productions in Ballet, and awardee for the Santo Tomas AB Gantimpala 2010 for Dance.
Daniel Policarpio Bartolome is a faculty member and instructor in the Conservatory of Music, UST. An experienced performer in concerts and musicals, he is also a conductor and percussionist here and in Japan and Paris.
Carmencita Jasareno-Bernardo is the Department Manager of the CCP Cultural Exchange, with experiences and observations in community arts management, artistic touring programs and managing productions, events and festivals, here, within Asia, in Europe and the USA. 
Herminigildo Ranera is a musical genius, being a rare combination of being a conductor, composer, arranger, performer and educator. His degree in music, major in Trombone and Theory was obtained at UST with Master of Music Degree in conducting from the University of Northern Colorado, USA, with Dean’s Citation for Graduate Excellence and National Graduate Award.
In 2003, he was chosen as a Dangal Awardee (Most Outstanding Faculty) by UST, and in 2006, Patnubay ng Sining at Kalinangan Awardee for Music by the city of Manila. He is now the resident conductor of the Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra.
Rodel Mayor Fronda is the president of the Philippine Folk Dance Society, artistic director and choreographer of Lahing Batangan Dance Troupe of Lyceum of the Philippines University-Batangas and Sining Bulakenyo.
He was former executive council, National Committee on Dance, NCCA. In 2005, he served as fellow – Asia Pacific Performance Exchange (APPEX) at University of California, Los Angeles, USA.
Maria Persady Sevidal is a former soloist of Ballet Philippines, and the artistic director of the Perry Sevidal Ballet. Her training dates back with impressive teachers and visiting international dancers. Her ballet company observes 21 years of “absolute independent existence.”
Peter de Vera is the vice-chairman of the National Committee on Dance, NCCA; and the director of the Sinukuan Performing Arts Group. She earlier represented the NCCA in the ASEAN Cultural Festival in Vietnam.
 For the small and medium, and big float entries are from the Asia Pacific Theological Seminary-International Praise Center, 7-eleven, Selecta, Zagu Foods, TV 5, Universal Robina Corporation, Lower Dagsian Barangay, North Luzon Expressway (NLEX), The Manor at Camp John Hay, Pascual Yogurt-Asia Brewery Inc., Jollibee Foods Corporation, Pepsi-Cola Products, International Pharmaceuticals, Department of Agriculture – CAR, Department of Tourism – CAR, Sitel, M. Lhuillier, Coca-Cola, ABS-CBN and Taloy Norte, Tuba, Benguet.
Godofredo Salud, Jimmy Floro, Miguel Romualdo Sanidad, Evangeline Go and Gina Detabali are judges for the floral float parade with Architect Regina Loraine Detabali as technical judge.  

All the judges are members of the horticulture and orchids society, diverse their educational backgrounds may be. The judges have also been judges in events and festivals here, within Asia or have attended various local and international floral and garden shows. Arct. Detabali, on the technical side is a graduate of UST, and member of the United Architects of the Philippines. Her focus is on diversity and shifting perspectives in architectural evolution. 


  © Blogger templates Palm by 2008

Back to TOP  

Web Statistics