Ifugao, Kalinga poll bets proclaimed despite glitches

>> Tuesday, May 31, 2016

By Daniel B. Codamon,  PeterBalocnit and Larry Lopez

DESPITE elections barbs and glitches, provincial candidates of Ifugao and Kalinga are set to assume their posts by June 30.
In Ifugao, the proclamation of the winning provincial candidates was delayed because of technical problems in canvassing wherein some SD cards could not be opened but was later solved and counting of the election returns finished.
Proclaimed congressman May 11 was incumbent Ifugao Rep. Teddy Baguilat Jr. who will serve his last term as representative of the province while incumbent Vice Gov. Pedro Mayam-o won as governor unseating  Gov. Denis Habawel.
Also proclaimed as vice governor was incumbent Board Member Jordan Gullitiw who is finishing his last term on June 30.
For District 1 Board Member are Robert Mangyao, Victor Bunnol Jr., Geronimo Bimohya and Robert Humiwat while for District 2 are Noli Maguiwe, Frederick Dulnuan Jr., Rufino Bongtiwon and Federico Juguiad Jr.
Except for Humiwat and Bongtiwon, other six winners are incumbent SP members.
Earlier last May 10, all the winning municipal candidates from the eleven municipalities of the province were proclaimed.
The winning candidates proclaimed include the mayor, vice mayor and Sangguniang Bayan members of the 11 towns.
Proclaimed mayors were Gaspar Chilagan Jr. of Aguinaldo, Glenn Prudenciano of Alfonso Lista, Armando Domilod of Asipulo, Jerry Dalipog of Banaue, Geraldo Luglug of Hingyon, Hilario Bumangabang of Hungduan, JoselitoGuyguyon of Kiangan, Omar Habawel of Lagawe, Mariano Buyagawan Jr. of Lamut, Ronnie Lumayna of Mayoyao and Marcelo Catalino of Tinoc.
All the winning municipal executives are incumbent mayors of their respective towns except in the municipality of Aguinaldo where Chilagan, the incumbent vice mayor,   defeated incumbent mayor Clemente Talusig.
In Lagawe town, newly-elected local officials are Martin Habawel, Jr. as mayor and CeasarioCabbigat for vice-mayor.  Members of the Sangguniang Bayan are VilmaAlcayna, ReynoldKimayong, TejanoBalinon, HomaLiwayan, Angel Taguiling, Gregorio Dangayo, Wilson Bumanghat and Davis Pulao.
Cabbigat and Habawel are the incumbent mayor and vice-mayor respectively. Alcayna, Kimayong, Balinon and Liwayan are also incumbent councilors while Bumanghat and Pulao are former councilors. Taguiling and Dangayo who are both barangay chairman are the only new comers.
Kalinga winners
Meanwhile, newly-elected officials of Kalinga  were proclaimed  by the provincial board of canvassers chaired by lawyer Ricardo Bulintao with  Provincial Prosecutor BartolomeGamonnac and Schools Division Superintendent Carolyn Verano.   
Proclaimed I were incumbent Vice Gov. Allen Jesse “Sonny” Mangaoang as congressman of the lone district of Kalinga; incumbent Gov. JocelC  Baac  as re-elected governor and  James  Edduba as vice governor.
Proclaimed District 1 board members were: Shirlynne Dasayon Alunday, Danzel Michael Langkit, Dave Odiem, and Emilio Kitongan.
For District 2 are Frederick Pangsiw, Lester Lee Tarnate, Eduardo Sarol and Rhustom Dagadag.
Mangaoang in his message said he will continue the unfinished job of outgoing Rep. Manuel Agyao. “Let’s set aside politics but instead work and get our acts together,” he said.
For his part, Baac who shall be serving his third term, called on those who lost to respect the will of the electorate. He also called on his colleagues to work together to deliver what they promised during the campaign and push the province towards progress.
Edduba, as incoming presiding officer of the Sanguniang Panlalawigan, assured his support to the executive branch saying   the SP will never be an obstacle to good programs and projects.
In Tabuk City, Kalinga, incumbent City Mayor Ferdinand B. Tubban won by landslide polls to finish his third and final term together with tandem vice mayor Darwin C. Estranero.
AnnivestHangdaan, Tabuk City Election officer and chair of the board of canvassers, proclaimed Tubban and Estranero.
Also proclaimed were new set of city councilors: Lucretina S. Sarol, Zorayda Mia Wacnang, Chester Alunday, Dick Bal-o, Ermilinda P. Wandag, Glen Julius Amla, Antonio Bakilan, Martinez Vicente, Castor Cayaba and Arnold Tenedero.

Newly elected officials will take their oath on June 30 and assume their posts July 1 and hold office the next three years. 


  © Blogger templates Palm by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP  

Web Statistics