Mt Province to honor former top officials in 50th foundation rites

>> Monday, March 27, 2017

By Roger Sacyaten

BONTOC, Mountain Province -- The first set of provincial officials, appointed and elected and all former governors and congressmen of Mountain province will be honored with plaques of recognition here on April 7 during the province’s founding anniversary  celebration and on occasion of Lang-ay Festival. 
The first set of appointed provincial officials, after the division of the old Mountain Province in 1967, were Alfredo Lamen, Sr. as governor, Victor Dominguez as vice governor and Pio Felwa and Alejo Manao as board members.  Luis Hora was the congressman.
Gov. Lamen, Vice Gov. Jaime Gomez, and Board Members Alejo Manao and Alfonso Layog were the first set of elected provincial officials in 1968.
Included as honorees are succeeding congressmen, governors and officers in charge of top provincial offices during revolutionary government of former President Corazon Aquino  when many government officials were substituted with OICs.
The committee on recognition awards met several times to document  honorees and contact those who will receive honors, especially those given posthumous recognition.
Their respective children were contacted.
Among the OICs were Saturnino Moldero, Jr., Nicasio Aliping, Modesto Calde, and John Likigan.
Congressman Dominguez had the longest service in office as representative of the province in congress, while Maximo Dalog was governor with longest term in in service.

Lawyer Amador Batay-an, who conceptualized awards, said the event will recognize dedicated services, efforts and contributions of honorees that helped the province achieve its vision, mission and goals that contributed to development of the province the last 50 years.


  © Blogger templates Palm by 2008

Back to TOP  

Web Statistics