Bontoc ili wins SK town council seat

>> Monday, November 20, 2023

The15 Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) Chairpersons of Bontoc elect their Municipal SK Federation Officers. Mark Branford Andaya, the SK Chairperson of Bontoc Ili won as Municipal SK Federation president, securing him a seat as ex-officio member of the Sangguniang Bayan.  Christy Mae C. Pangesfan, Bontoc LGU 

By Christy Mae C. Pangesfan

BONTOC, Mountain Province – The 15 Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) chairpersons of this capital town elected Mark Branford Andaya as Municipal SK Federation president, securing him a seat as ex-officio member of the Sangguniang Bayan.
    Andaya won eight votes over his two opponents who were also nominated for the position during the SK Federation orientation and election on Nov. 14 at the mayor’s conference hall.
    Meanwhile, SK chairperson of Tocucan, Grant Hill Cattel, was proclaimed vice president after winning against one candidate.
    Other proclaimed officers were: Beverly Kam-mon Tuma-ak of Maligcong, secretary; Elmer Zuñiga Jr. of Gonogon, treasurer; Marcelo La Madrid of Talubin, auditor; Clarence Ing-inga Can-eo, public relations officer and Denis Kongoy of Samoki and Christian Fongao of Mainit as sergeant at arms.
Prior to the election, the 15 SK chairpersons underwent the SK Federation orientation facilitated by Municipal Local Government Operations officer Lourdes Claire Peel, Local Youth Development officer-designate Ross Kiat-ong, and Civil Society Organization representative Anton Zaren Nasungan.
Bontoc Mayor Jerome “Chagsen” Tudlong, Jr., who administered the oath-taking of SK Federation officers same day, cited their crucial role in shaping the future of the community by representing interests and aspirations of the youth.
    “I encourage you to approach your duties with enthusiasm, integrity, and a deep sense of responsibility. Your ideas, initiatives, and passion will undoubtedly play a vital role in building a stronger, more vibrant community,” he said.
    Meanwhile, Andaya advocated programs that encourage the active participation of young people in local governance and community development, as well as initiatives that focus on improving education and skills development and supporting campaigns on health awareness, mental health, and fitness programs.
    The Board of Election Supervisors was composed of MLGOO Lourdes Claire Peel, Election officer Virginia Chokowen, and local legislative staff officer Coy Abel Pachingel.
    Panel of Observers were Municipal Treasurer Lourdes Austria, Saint Vincent’s School elementary department school principal, Christopher Che-es, Sr. and Bontoc municipal police station chief Maj. Pedro Tactay.




  © Blogger templates Palm by 2008

Back to TOP  

Web Statistics