Comelec execs proclaim Cordillera poll winners

>> Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Reelectionists Baguio City Mayor Benjamin Magalong (left), Vice Mayor Faustino Olowan (center) and Congressman Marquez Go are proclaimed winners in the local election. (Photo courtesy of Baguio City Public Information Office)

By Liza Agoot

BANGUED, Abra – Winners for the different elected posts in the six provinces and two cities in the Cordillera Administrative Region have been proclaimed, some as early as Monday evening and the last batch on Tuesday evening.
    As early as Monday evening (May 9), the Commission on Elections proclaimed incumbent Baguio City Mayor Benjamin Magalong reelected following the completion of the canvassing of the precincts that covered 128 barangays in the city.
    As early as Monday evening (May 9), the Commission on Elections proclaimed incumbent Baguio City Mayor Benjamin Magalong reelected following the completion of the canvassing of the precincts that covered 128 barangays in the city.
    He was proclaimed with reelected Rep. Marquez “Mark” Go and Vice Mayor Faustino Olowan.
    Winning city councilors were Benny Bomogao, Jose Molintas, Arthur Allad-iw, Betty Lourdes Tabanda, Leandro Yangot, Isabelo Cosalan Jr., Mylen Yaranon, Elmer Datuin, Peter Fianza, Vladimir Cayabas, Fred Bagbagen and Leah Farinas.
    Also proclaimed on Monday night were Tabuk City winners Darwin Estranero for mayor; and Dick Bal-o for vice mayor together with the councilors.
    Abra Rep. Joseph Sto. NiƱo "JB" Bernos, who ran for mayor of La Paz municipality, was also proclaimed on Monday evening.
    He ran unopposed for the position.
    In Ifugao, reelection of Rep. Solomon Chungalao and Vice Gov. Glenn Prudenciano with Lamut town mayor and governor-elect Jerry Dalipog were proclaimed around 3 p.m. on Tuesday.
In Benguet, the winners for leading provincial posts -- Congressman-elect Eric Go Yap, reelected Gov. Melchor Diclas, and newcomer Felipe Tagel as vice governor -- were proclaimed also at 3 p.m. Tuesday.
    Elected board members were Johannes A. Amuasen, Alexander T. Fianza, Florencio V. Bentrez, and Juan “Coy” M. Nazarro Jr. for District 1. For District 2 were Marie Rose Fongwan Kepes, Fernando Balaodan Sr., Roberto K. Canuto, Ruben E. Paoad, Joel Tingbawen Jr., and Neptali Camsol.
    In the capital town of La Trinidad, Benguet, reelectionists mayor Romeo Salda and vice mayor Roderick Awingan won as mayor and vice mayor respectively.
    At press time winning La Trinidad Sangguniang Bayan winners were John Botiwey, Jayson Dangwa, Guiller Galwan, Belmer Elis, Teddy Walang, Francis Lee, Henry Kipas and Bartolome Baldas Jr. 
In Kalinga, the provincial canvassers proclaimed around 5 p.m. Tuesday reelected Rep. Allen Jesse Mangaoang, while former Vice Governor James Edduba was elected governor and former Governor Jocel Baac won for vice governor.
    In Mountain Province, incumbent Rep. Maximo Dalog, Gov. Bonifacio Lacwasan, and Vice Gov. Francis Tauli were all reelected to the same position and proclaimed around 6 p.m. on Tuesday.
Abra winners were proclaimed around 7 p.m. on Tuesday led by governor-elect and incumbent Bangued Mayor     Dominic Valera, incumbent governor and vice-governor-elect Joy Valera-Bernos, and incumbent La Paz Mayor Ching Bernos, who won as congresswoman of the lone district of Abra.
    In Apayao, where most of the positions went to unopposed candidates, election supervisor Ricardo Bulintao, in a private message through social media, said the winners were proclaimed around 9 p.m. on Tuesday evening.
Abra election officer and Provincial Election Board chairman Ricardo Lampac said, “This is the fastest so far that Abra finished and proclaimed the winning candidates and transmitted the result to the national board of canvassers."
    He said that they could have finished earlier had it not been for two municipalities that were traditionally the last to submit results due to their distance from the provincial capital.
    Lampac said the municipalities of Tineg and Lacub, which have precincts located in far-flung sitios, did not have an internet signal that will allow the transmission to be done.
    He said Sitio Talipugo in Lacub is not accessible by road and had to use air assets to transmit and deliver its election supplies and results.
    “If they walk, it will take about two days to reach the place but with the air assets provided by security forces, they were flown to the location of the municipal canvassing and the municipal result also flown to the capital town,” Lampac said.
    Lampac said the Commission on Elections' strong partnership with the different government agencies allowed it to complete its task faster and deliver the necessary results earlier. -- PNA


  © Blogger templates Palm by 2008

Back to TOP  

Web Statistics